I have to admit I was super excited about going to the Jersey Shore. Although I had visited popular destinations like Cape May I had never been to Spring Lake which is often a popular New York destination for summer shares, rentals or a weekend getaway. I was also thrilled by the chance to actually re-design a room in a bed and breakfast! Crossing into hospitality design has long been as aspect of interior design that has interested me. As an ASID interior designer who has designed cottages and historic homes, I wanted to incorporate some architectural detail into a room that had great bones. As designers on the show we learned that the entire house had actually been picked up and moved several times and that the original structure is almost 100 years old. This needed to be a ginger operation at best. As a designer it was my hope to bring in softer, crisp elements into the room like soft cottons, grays and steely blues. My design partner early on said “shabby chic”, which is a design style that I really love! The idea to whitewash the floor I initially thought was a good one, had it been executed well, it could have been a stunner!

Our room before the transformation

Another before image

Our room after the transformation. I love the blue and white!

 

Our room from another angle featuring a reading nook

 

A chair that I re-upholstered. The chair used to be dark brown with a black vinyl seat.

