Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Don't be afraid to go bold with Chartreuse!

Looooooove Orange my signature color!

Turquoise is a really hot color this season! Looks great with gray, chocolate and black!

I have grown quite fond of this pepper green. It looks fabulous with pure white!

When faced with the design dilemma of decorating my bedroom when I was a teenager, my mother called in an interior designer for help. The designer suggested painting one of my bedroom walls an “accent color” and before I knew it, a deep tangerine color had been painted on one of the walls. I loved it! Decades later, and after painting more accent walls than I can count, I find myself often being asked by my interior design and home-staging clients if they should add an accent wall into their design mix. My answer is, it depends. As an ASID interior designer, I use “accent colors” for a specific purpose: to incorporate a bold color into a space without “overdoing it” by painting every wall. Accent colors not only add interest, but can also help to define a space architecturally. Accent colors can also highlight particular features of a space and serve as the foundation of a color palette. A tangerine color painted on one wall adds the right amount of personality to a room without overpowering the eye with color. (Courtesy of Cathy Hobbs Design Recipes) As part of the 3-day Certified Staging Professionals (CSP) certification course, of which I am one of their national instructors, we teach a color method for achieving the correct color balance in home staging involving the proper use of a primary, secondary, and accent colors. As home staging is about selling a property and having it appeal to the largest number of potential buyers as possible, it is essential when using color that the colors don’t come across as too “personalized.” Using an accent wall serves as a wonderful home-staging technique and painting solution because it is merely an accent. One wall painted a single color as opposed to a whole room painted a color that may offend. Stumped about which colors would make great accents? Think warm and inviting or bright and bold. Yellows, oranges, and greens all make great accent colors and can easily blend with lots of color palettes. Stay away from muted or pastel tones, as they do not make great colors for an accent wall and are best suited for all over color. Accent walls should make a bold statement so that they stand out as opposed to blend in. When using an accent color in home staging, my suggestion is to have a little fun with it, and don’t be afraid to go bold!


