Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome back to my project of the week! For those of you who did not see last Monday’s blog post, I have decided to take on the ENORMOUS task of creating a modern, stylish studio from a traditional Amish shed.

My husband and I own a cottage in The Hudson Valley and wanted to add some additional living space.  Because adding a room to the existing house was not feasible I have decided to add an additional structure to our existing land.

I was inspired to try to have the additional living space or studio built by the Amish after discovering my late grandmother had a rather large and lovely 500+ square foot shed built by the Amish.

I spent this last week on THE HUNT for some ideas of how I could have my Amish built shed made NOT to look like a shed but a little house.  I must say I am THRILLED by what I discovered.  During my search I found some sheds that have transom window, high ceilings and lots of windows.  I now plan to use my discoveries as inspiration to create my modern studio!!

My Grandmother's Shed From The Front. Looks so much like a little house!

My Grandmother’s Shed From The Front. Looks so much like a little house!

My Grandmother's Shed

My Grandmother’s Shed

transom 2OMG!! How great is this?? High ceilings, transom windows, lots of light! I think this is the perfect “model” to use in planning and designing the new studio

\transom 3A view from the side — LOVE the dormer at the top .. what a great idea!!!

transom 1The view from inside!! Check out the high ceilings!

Be sure to also LIKE Design Recipes on FACEBOOK and FOLLOW Design Recipes on Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter!

Also to personally follow me, you can become a FAN ofCathy Hobbs Interior Designer on FACEBOOK and FOLLOW Cathy Hobbs on Instagram and Twitter!

