Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Loyal viewers of OWN, The Oprah Winfrey Network and fans of IKEA have likely noticed a series of beautifully shot IKEA commercials featuring IKEA’s prominent national campaign known as “The Life Improvement Project” for which I am the national Green Expert. This month my commercial recently started airing on OWN nationwide.

As someone who was a television news anchor and reporter for 20 years, I certainly know what goes into a putting a piece of television on the air, but I must admit I was extremely impressed if not awed by the fabulous production crew who made my IKEA commercial a home run.

I wanted to share how it all came together!

IKEA Life Improvement Project Members

IKEA Life Improvement Project Members

Me with other Life Improvement Project Members, fellow Interior Designer Erin Gates, Entertaining Expert Amy Atlas and Life Coach Susan Hyatt. The squad is headed by Journalist Lisa Ling. This photo was taken in Los Angeles when The Life Improvement Project officially launched at Oprah’s massive event called O You! And yes! We got to meet Oprah!

Outside of the IKEA in South Philadelphia the morning of the commercial shoot

Due to damage to IKEA’s Red Hook, Brooklyn store from Hurricane Sandy, I was flown to Philadelphia so the shoot could take place at IKEA’s store in South Philadelphia. Because the shoot had to take place prior to the store opening, the shoot call was at 5:00 a.m. That meant a 3:30 am wake up call! Welcome to the glamorous side of network television.

A stylist had these gorgeous dresses waiting in my trailer when I arrived

A stylist had these gorgeous dresses waiting in my trailer when I arrived

Some of the accessories. I got to keep the shoes .. whoo hoot!!

Some of the accessories. I got to keep the shoes .. whoo hoot!!

A bit of down time before the commercial shoot begins

A bit of down time before the commercial shoot begins

Take!! It's Time to get started! I memorized all my lines in a NY minute. All the years of live reporting sure came in handy!

Take!! It’s Time to get started! I memorized all my lines in a New York minute. All the years of live reporting sure came in handy!

Everything was checked and re-checked!

Everything was checked and re-checked!

In between takes

In between takes

Even an Emmy award winning journalist could use a little coaching..LOL!

Even an Emmy award winning journalist can use a little coaching..LOL!

The crew.. such pros!

The crew.. such pros!

Laughing on set after flubbing a line

Laughing on set after flubbing a line

Me asking for direction.. I wanted to get right! The clock was ticking with less than a half an hour before the store was going to open!

Me asking for direction.. I wanted to get it right! The clock was ticking with less than a half an hour to go before the store was set to open!

Nailed it! That's a wrap!

Nailed it! That’s a wrap!

