Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am totally thrilled with the progress I have made thus far relating to my most recent interior design project, creating a useful, modern, and creatively designed studio from a traditional Amish shed.  Since my last posting, I have secured an Amish builder for my project.  GreenTree Stuctures in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Not only will I save money by buying “Amish direct” it will allow me to create a totally customized structure in which my “shed” will be built from a set of contract documents and delivered as essentially a pre-fab structure.   Now the challenge. A typical wood shed has siding made from a material called DuraTemp which is an affordable low maintenance plywood siding.  As I wish to have the shed look and feel more like a little house, using anything other than a traditional siding, I do not believe will achieve my desired look.

In speaking to GreenTree Structures, we both came up with the idea of actually using the same type of siding that one would use on an actual house! My first choice is to use Western Red Cedar, as this is the color of our actual home. But the reality is, I will need to keep costs down, so instead of making the shed/studio with Western Red Cedar siding, I have elected to use White Pine, which is more budget friendly.  The plan is for me to send actual gallons of Arborcoat stain to GreenTree and have them stain the White Pine the same color that was used on the Western Red Cedar on my main home.  So far so good! Be sure to check in again next Monday!

DuraTemp Plywood Siding

A shed with DuraTemp siding

Amish Shed inspiration for my modern studio

Amish Shed inspiration for my modern studio

This shed which is the inspiration for my structure shows DuraTemp siding hung  horizontally

A photo supplied to the Amish builder showing the overlapping siding detail I desire.

A photo supplied to the Amish builder showing the overlapping siding detail I desire.

SIDING DETAIL

GreenTree asked me to provide a photo of the side view of the Western Red Cedar on my main residence in order to determine what type of White Pine to purchase

GreenTree asked me to provide a photo of the side view of the Western Red Cedar on my main residence in order to determine what type of White Pine to purchase

