Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It has been several months and NOW the big reveal! As many of you know, for months every Monday I have been dedicating this blog to one of my favorite, favorite design projects, transforming an Amish shed into a modern studio!

The whole idea to transform an Amish shed was inspired by my late grandmother, who had the Amish build her a 450 square foot shed for lawn equipment. Why she needed something this big I dunno! But it certainly got me thinking..what an inexpensive way to create a pre-fab studio/office! In NYC in fact 500 square foot is the size of a studio apartment, 350 is actually for that matter!!

I designed a 12’x24′ (336 square foot) Amish shed from scratch, adding 4 front windows, side transoms, a sliding glass door, and a back dormer.  Inside the ceilings are 10′ feet high with custom built/designed barn doors as closet doors and finishes like hand scraped floors and vintage lighting.  Scott Yoder of Yoder Precision Carpentry in Freehold, NY was hired to execute the build out and he certainly did a fabulous job, take a look at the before and after!

VIDEO

My late grandmothers shed, the inspiration for it all!

After seeing my grandmothers shed, I went shed shopping and found this one, that helped me hone in on what could be the inspiration for my design.

The front of my custom designed shed

Built by GreenTree Amish Sheds (Lancaster, PA)

The east side with a transom

IMG_0119

The west side with sliding glass doors and a transom above

IMG_0117

The back with a dormer

The exterior today

Growing grass!! Next Spring landscaping!

BEFORE

AFTER

Hand Scraped Flooring

Source: Lumber Liquidators

BEFORE

AFTER

Cathy’s Bremen Gray

From my paint collection at Mythic Paint

BEFORE

AFTER


Cathy’s Optimistic
From my paint collection at Mythic Paint

Hint! Use a tinted primer as opposed to one that is pure white in order to achieve a deep, rich tone.

The close ups of my fabulous custom made barn doors, painted in my signature color ORANGE!

Barn Door Hardware

http://www.barndoorhardware.com

The vintage barn door hardware

Source: Ebay

BEFORE

AFTER

BEFORE

AFTER

I looovvve these vintage drum pendants I installed!

Source: Restoration Hardware

Source: Robert Abbey

Check out these sconces, in cold rolled steel like the ceiling pendants with old fashion bulbs that show the filaments

I will be starting a new project soon.. so be sure to stay tuned! In the coming months, when the studio is fully furnished, I will be sure to share!

Are you on social media? I would love to connect with you! Feel free to reach out to me on any of these platforms!

Be sure to also LIKE Cathy Hobbs, Interior Designer on FACEBOOK

and Follow Design Recipes on TWITTER

As well as Cathy Hobbs on PINTEREST

And Design Recipes on INSTAGRAM

Plus enjoy our Design Recipes How-To-Videos on YOU TUBE

